Connect with us



Share with your friends:

(JANUARY 2022)
Compiled by Victor Melder

sri lanka cricket

Sri Lanka Cricket today (07) lifted the one-year ban imposed on Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis and Niroshan Dickwella  from all forms of International cricket. The trio were banned for one year and six months from international cricket and domestic cricket, respectively, and were each fined Rs. 10 million on 30 July 2021, following allegations of breaching the bio-bubble whilst on tour in England. Upon completion of the one-year ban on International cricket, each of the players were to be subjected to a further ban of one year, which was to be suspended for two years, SLC stated at the time of the incident. Earlier today, Gunathilaka announced his retirement from Test cricket. (Ceylon Today, 8.1.2022) In the wake of cricketer Bhanuka Rajapaksa has announced his intention to retire from international cricket, the Sri Lanka Cricket has taken a number of decisions on national players who intend to retire from national cricket. Accordingly, national players who are intending to retire from national cricket, should officially notify the local Cricket governing body three months ahead, elaborating their intention to retire, SLC said. The above decision was taken by the executive committee of SLC at a meeting held on Friday in respect of players who have retired and/or contemplating to retire from national cricket. Also, retired national players who wish to obtain the ‘’No Objection Certificates’’ (NOCs) to play franchise league tournaments overseas, will only be issued to such players, provided who have completed six months of their effective date of retirement. Retired national players will be considered eligible for local leagues such as LPL, only if they have played 80% of matches in the Domestic Cricket Competitions conducted in the season prior to the league matches, the SLC said. The above decisions are to take effect immediately. (Daily Mirror Online, 9.1.2022)

The Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) selection committee has decided to include five new members to the national squad for the ODI series against Zimbabwe, which will commence from January 16th at Pallekele. Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Mendis, Kamidu Mendis, Shiran Fernando, and Nuwan Pradeep have been added to the squad. From the Sri Lankan team, cricketers Avishka Fernando and Janith Liyanage had contracted COVID-19. Two pacemen Kalana Perera and Lahiru Kumara are unavailable for the series after failing the skinfold test. Kusal Mendis has been included after the SLC recently decided to lift the one-year ban that was imposed on him. Kamindu Mendis has been appointed to replace Dhananjay de Silva who has stepped down from the team due to personal reasons. Newcomers Kamil Mishara, Nuwan Thushara, and Chamika Gunasekara have also been included in the squad while leg spinner Jeffrey Vandersay has been recalled for the squad, as the key spinner Waninidu Hasaranga is still not recovered from the injury. Meanwhile Ranjan Madugalle the ICC Chief match referee has been appointed match referee for the Zimbabwe ODI series while the five-member umpires panel also has been named for this series. The ICC Elite panel umpire Kumar Dharmasena and ICC umpires Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Raveendra Wimalasiri, Lyndon Hannibal, and Prageeth Rambukwella are also included in this umpires panel.

Sri Lanka ODI Squad: (subjected to approval)

Dasun Shanaka (captain), Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Minod Bhanuka, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Nuwan Thushara, Dinesh Chandimal, Ramesh Mendis, Praveen Jayawickrama, Dushmantha Chameera, Chamika Gunasekara, Kamil Mishara Standby: Asitha Fernando, Vishwa Fernando, Ashen Daniel, Ashen Bandara, Pulina Tharanga, Nimesh Vimukthi. (Daily News, 12.1.2022)

Sri Lanka beat the touring Zimbabweans by 5 wickets to win the first One Day International (ODI) played at the Palekelle International  Stadium. Scores:

Zimbabwe – 296/9 in 50 Overs (Williams 100, Chakabva 72, Kaitano 42, Karunaratne 3/69, Vandersay 2/44, Pradeep 2/54)

Sri Lanka – 300/5 in 48.3 Overs (Nissanka 75, Chandimal 75, Asalanka 71, Ngarava 3/56, Raza 1/23, Muzarabani 1/58)

Player of the Match: Dinesh Chandimal (Sri Lanka).

Points: Sri Lanka 10, Zimbabwe 0.

The touring Zimbabweans beat Sri Lanka by 22 runs to win the second One-Day International (ODI) played at the Pallekelle International Cricket Stadium. Scores:

Zimbabwe – 302/8 in 50 Overs (Ervine 91, Raza 56, Williams 48, Chakbava 47, Vandersay 3/51, Pradeep 2/74, Karunaratne 1/24, Theekshana 1/49)

Sri Lanka – 280/9 in 50 Overs (Shanaka 102, K.Mendis 57, Karunratane 34, Chatara 3/52, Muzarabani 3/56, Medhevere 1/30, Ngavara 1/41)

Player of the Match: Craig Ervine (Zimbabwe)

Points: Zimbabwe 10, Sri Lanka 0.

Sri Lanka beat the touring Zimbabweans by 184 runs to win the third and final One Day International (ODI) played at the Palekelle International  Stadium. Scores:

Sri Lanka – 254/9 in 50 Overs (Nissanke 55, Asalanaka 52, K.Mendis 36, Karunaratne 30,  Ngarava 2/46, Williams 1/6)

Zimbabwe – 70 in 24.4 Overs (Kaitano 19, Burl 15, Vandersay 4/10, Chameera 2/20, R.Mendis 2/26, Karunaratne 1/ 4)

Points: Sri Lanka 10, Zimbabwe 0.

Sri Lanka won the three-match Series 2-1

Player of the Match: Charith Asalanka (Sri Lanka)

Player of the Series: Pathum Nissanka (Sri Lanka)

The Sri Lanka Cricket today announced the 20-member squad for the ‘Sri Lanka Tour of Australia 2022.’ The matches will be played at three venues namely the SCG, Manuka Oval, and MCG, starting from February 11, 2022. Sri Lanka National Team will play 05 T20Is during the tour. Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Kusal Janith Perera have not been picked for the series.

Sri Lanka Cricket’s Selection Committee selected the following squad;

01) Dasun Shanaka – Captain, 02) Charith Asalanka – Vice-Captain, 03) Avishka Fernando, 04) Pathum Nissanka, 05) Danushka Gunathilaka, 06) Kusal Mendis, 07) Dinesh Chandimal, 08) Chamika Karunaratne, 09) Janith Liyanage, 10) Kamil Mishara, 11) Ramesh Mendis, 12) Wanindu Hasaranga, 13) Lahiru Kumara, 14) Nuwan Thushara, 15) Dushmantha Chameera, 16) Binura Fernando, 17) Maheesh Theekshana, 18) Jeffrey Vandersay, 19) Praveen Jayawickrama, 20) Shiran Fernando – Subject to Ministerial Approval. (Daily Mirror Online, 26.1.2022

Source link

Share with your friends:
Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.